Gippsland Region – Badge 2014

The Regions were changed enormously in 2012 with the existing 28 Regions reduced to eight.

Gippsland Region now has six Districts and a number of groups comprising the previous Baw Baw, Gippsland and Woorayl Regions.

The Region is now divided into the following Districts:  Bass Coast, Baw Baw, East Gippsland, Latrobe, South Gippsland and Wellington.

The images on the badge symbolise:

Coastal Banksia – found throughout the Region

Rose – beautiful gardens and Morwell Rose Garden

Penguin – Phillip Island Little Penguins

Beach / coast – to our south

Mountains with snow – to our north

Trees – forests and timber industry

Boat and fish – recreation and fishing industry

Lyrebird – in our forests

River – many in the Region

Six pointed star = six Districts